About St Ursula’s - Our Board

An Introduction to the St Ursula’s College Board of Directors

St Ursula’s College Ltd is governed by a Board of Directors. The Board was established in 1992. The Presentation Sisters, like many Congregations, faced the challenge of declining numbers and looked for a governance model to meet the needs of the future. When the decision was made to incorporate the College to create St Ursula’s College Ltd, the Sisters developed a constitution that provides for the governance of the College through an appointed Board of Directors. St Ursula’s College is thus a ‘stand alone’ Institute school, unlike other secondary schools and colleges in the Rockhampton Diocese that are controlled by the Diocesan Education Office, and ultimately the Bishop. Of course, St Ursula’s enjoys valuable working relationships with the DCEO.

Members of the Board of Directors

The College Board has a membership of eleven Directors:

  • Mr David Sutton – B.A., B.Ed., Cert. T
  • Mr Justin Power – BEcon, MSustDev
  • Mrs Clare McCormack   LLB – honours, B.Comm
  • Mr Thalep Ahmat  – CEO Bidgerdii Community Health Service
  • Mrs Margaret Whitchurch – Queen’s Medal 2012
  • Dr Gillian Busch – Dip Teach, B Ed, Grad Dip (ECE), MEd, PhD
  • Mrs Kerry Attwill – Bus-LLB, Grad Dip PLEAT
  • Sr. Rosemary Grundy pbvm
  • Mr Gavin Hill – BEng (Civil), MIEAust , RPEQ , AdvDipIT
  • Mrs Julie McLaughlin  DipTeach(Primary), Bed, Med
  • Mrs Ann Marie Pawsey MEdL, BA, Dip.Ed, Grad.Cert.RE

Mrs Lisa Wain -Grad Cert Man, GIA (Cert); Company Secretary

Unless they choose otherwise, these people remain as Board members for a maximum of nine years served on a rotational basis.

Functions and Responsibilities of the Board of Directors

The Board is responsible for deciding the strategic directions involved in planning for the future of the College; over-sighting and approving financial and resource management; ensuring that the Presentation charism continues and that affective leadership is provided by appointing the Principal of the College. As Chief Executive Officer, the Principal is responsible and accountable to the Board for the day-to-day operational management of the College within the broad framework established by the Board of Directors.

As with many complex organisations, the Board of Directors is able to establish sub-committees the tasks of which are to advise the Board on more specialised areas of development. Currently, the Board has four such sub-committees for:

  • Policy and Governance
  • Finance and Risk Management
  • Personnel
  • Development

The Board as a Partner in the Education Journey

In charting the future direction of the College, the Board strives to ensure that its decisions reflect appropriate advice and input from stakeholders. From time to time, the Board invites parents, students and staff to provide feedback on a range of matters related to strategic and Master planning. While planning for the future, the Board is also mindful of its role. The spiritual and cultural heritage handed on from the Presentation Sisters.

Annual Reports

Annual Report 2018 Annual Report 2018